Released today in 1984: Too Late For Goodbyes

Charisma JL1

Charisma JL1

Too Late For Goodbyes was the debut single from Julian Lennon, and the lead single from his album Valotte. Lennon has said that there is limited point in trying to analyse his lyrics, but early unofficial biographer Kalia Lulow made the following attempt in a 1986 book about him: “The lead-off song on the second side of the album, this tune has one very interesting line that reveals Julian’s sense of continual loss. He sings, ‘ever since you’ve been leaving me,’ not ‘ever since you left me’. The leaving is something that happened over and over, over a long period of time. The death of his father was simply the tragic conclusion of a lifelong pattern.”

Speaking about Valotte to Rolling Stone, Lennon said, “I wanted to get it out of the way. I had these songs that were written from experience, things I had gone through. It was just having them there and wanting people to listen to them. Now I’ve got that off my chest, I feel fine. But now I’m worried about the next album cause I don’t know what I’m going to come up with. I’m not sure which road I’m going to take. I’ve got to sit down and think.”

NEW SINGLES on sale from Sep. 24
1982
The BELLE STARS Mockingbird (Stiff BUY159)
DEXY’S MIDNIGHT RUNNERS Jackie Wilson Said (Mercury DEXYS10)
EURYTHMICS Love Is A Stranger (RCA DA1)
PRETENDERS Back On The Chain Gang (Real ARE19)
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES (Siouxsie Sioux) Slowdive (Polydor POSP510)
SPANDAU BALLET Lifeline (Reformation CHS2642)
1984
BANGLES Hero Takes A Fall (CBS A4527)
CULTURE CLUB The War Song (Virgin VS694)
Julian LENNON Too Late For Goodbyes (Charisma JL1)

Leave a Reply

