Released today in 1983: Love Blonde

RAK RAK360

RAK RAK360

The 80s were hard times for a lot of people when it came to fashion. “She’s never waiting on your smile/Devastating, what’s in her style?” asked Kim Wilde on her seventh single, the unusual (for her) jazz and swing influenced number Love Blonde. As the song is supposed to be about Kim herself and her image, it’s possibly a question that only she can answer, and a couple of years later she did just that when Smash Hits (24 April 1985) asked her to comment on some of the clothes she had sported over the past five years. Typically for Kim she laughed at most of her previous stylings, explaining that “I’ll try anything. I’m like that, I’m game for a laugh, which can be a bit lethal. If someone comes up and says, ‘how about this?’, I’ll say ‘all right then’ and land myself in a situation where I think ‘my God! What am I doing here?’. But at least I throw myself in. Some people never even give it a try.” She was no fashion victim though. “I never wanted to be in a position where I would have to be a servant to an image. I just wore the clothes I wanted to wear, jeans, whatever.”
around the time of Kids In America (January 1981)

around the time of Kids In America (January 1981). “Oh, my God! This is what I wore for the video. I nicked it off a friend. The buttons wouldn’t do up properly.”


around the time of Chequered Love (spring 1981)

around the time of Chequered Love (spring 1981). “Don’t use this! It’s horrendous…an Oxfam job that I bought when I was just out of art school.”


around the time of Cambodia (November 1981)

around the time of Cambodia (November 1981). “Rough and ready. It wasn’t a deliberate change of image, just a jacket given to me by a friend.”


around the time of  House Of Salome  (European single, late ‘83/early ‘84)

around the time of House Of Salome (European single, late ‘83/early ‘84). “I just said, ‘I want to wear a dress today’. I loved it at the time but I’d never be seen dead in it now.”


around the time of The Second Time (autumn 1984)

around the time of The Second Time (autumn 1984). “That whole project was great at the time but now I really laugh at it… I was really enjoying it, but then I couldn’t handle it anymore. I kind of went, ‘aaargh! Hate it! Hate it! Hate it! Throw it out the window!’ It made me realize I’m not very good at the media thing. I’m not tailor-made for it.”


around the time of Rage To Love (April 1985: the Teddy-boy jacket she wore during promotion for the single and on the cover of the ‘Rage To Rock’ tour programme belonged to her father.)

around the time of Rage To Love (April 1985: the Teddy-boy jacket she wore during promotion for the single and on the cover of the ‘Rage To Rock’ tour programme belonged to her father.)“I like wearing men’s clothes… I think I’ll stick to wearing stuff like this now. Then again, I might just change my mind!”



















































NEW SINGLES on sale from Jul. 18
1983
HOT CLUB (Clark Datchler) It Ain’t Me Girl (RAK RAK361)
Kim WILDE Love Blonde (RAK RAK360)
1988
AZTEC CAMERA (Roddy Frame) Working In A Goldmine (WEA YZ199)
BROTHER BEYOND The Harder I Try (Parlophone R6184)
Bobby BROWN Don’t Be Cruel (MCA MCA1268)
Nick KAMEN Bring Me Your Love (WEA YZ202)
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES (Siouxsie Sioux) Peek A Boo (Wonderland SHE14)
TIFFANY Feelings Of Forever (MCA TIFF4)

Leave a Reply

